The LAURA Short Fiction Awards,
named in honor of Laura Ingalls Wilder,
are sponsored by Women Writing the West (WWW).
Members of WWW enter their short stories in a contest. WWW is proud to publish the 2011 winners in this edition of the LAURA Journal.

Women Writing the West is a nonprofit organization of writers and other professionals writing and promoting the Women's West. Membership is open to all interested persons worldwide.

titleTable of Contents

First Place
Sulfur Springs by Lucinda Stein

Second Place
The Long Road Home by Bonnie Hobbs

Third Place
Last Dance by Anne Schroeder

Honorable Mention
The Lucky One by Kathleen Ernst

Honorable Mention
White River Phoenix by Leslee Breene

LAURA Archives

2011-2012 LAURA Committee

Pamela Tartaglio
WWW President

Erin S. Gray
WWW President Elect

Suzanne Lyon
WWW Past President

Women Writing the West Thanks
Pam Houston
2011 Final Judge